books · comics

Book Haul!

Really excited in getting back to this and also super hyped for this haul!

Food Wars is one of my favourite series at the moment! It’s so good! I have to admit that when I first tried to watch the show I was put off by the fan service but when you get past that it’s so good. It’s funny that I went from not liking it to watching the show a number of times and owning the manga. It’s such a fun show and the food looks amazing! I do highly recommend watching the anime as well as reading the manga. The show really does a great job with the cooking aspect, my only issue is that the 2nd season is way too short! It rushed through the plot too quickly.

Season 3 was also just announced and is coming out this fall! I’m so happy that we get new episodes and a future volume is coming out with a short episode on dvd.

dc67-nowsaa2uj1

I saw this next title when I was on instagram one day and I fell in love! I had to get it. Not only is the art beautiful but it’s also influenced by Ireland and our myths. I can’t wait to give it a read. I may write a review over on Goodreads when I’m done!

dc6-wruxyaem23r

A friend of mine got the book on the left and after hearing her say it was good I needed to get myself a copy. I like to get books with Lolita’s in them or some sort of Japanese fashion. I’m a huge fan of Kamikaze Girls and knowing the author was a part of this project made me want it even more. There is a mix of essays and comics written by Lolita’s. There’s even a description of the style of the start which is quite cute. I’ve taken a couple of photos on instagram that show two of the pages describing Gothic and Old School Lolita. Both cute styles and the drawings are great. They actually both reminded me of a couple of girls in my community. If you are interested in Lolita or just Japanese fashion in general this to me is a must buy! I grew up in my teens loving Lolita and buying and reading whatever I could get my hands on. This is one of the better books that I have.

Giant Days is such a great and fun comic! I’m head over heals in love with it! Along with Food Wars this is a series that I try to buy almost as soon as it comes out. It’s such a relatable series as I’m currently in University! It stars three women going through University in England and their friendship is so cute! If you are wanting to get into comics this is one I would recommend. Along with Lumberjanes and Paper Girls, it’s so great seeing comics with female leads.

dc1tbuxxsaappqj

 

Have you read any or want to read any of the above? Let me know below!

Also I’m currently taking part in a manga reading challenge over on goodreads! I’m hoping to read at least 50 volumes this year, I’m on about 20 right now! If you want to take part it’s under the Manga and Anime Lovers group challenge list!

Leave a Reply

